The Register’s Cody Goodwin previews the 2019 Iowa state wrestling event with groups to observe in each class.
Zachary Boyden-Holmes, DesMoines

The state wrestling event all the time presents opportunity.

For individuals to win titles and earn a spot within the document books. For groups to return together and win the collective crown. For followers to observe a number of the biggest moments in Iowa high school sports.

This yr, nevertheless, there is an opportunity for brand spanking new faces to stand up and stake their claim as Iowa’s greatest.

Last season’s loaded senior class, headlined by Fort Dodge’s Brody Teske and Underwood’s Alex Thomsen, is gone. And instead is one other robust group of seniors together with gifted wrestlers of all age groups. When the normal state event begins Thursday in Des Moines, only thirteen wrestlers taking the mat may have beforehand gained an individual state title.

The workforce races will function thrilling action. A few of the nation’s greatest will compete in Iowa’s largest class. The small-faculty powers are back again and aiming so as to add to their trophy instances. Class 2A is broad-open.

A robust freshman class — there are 37 first-yr prep wrestlers ranked by the Predicament, together with 16 within the prime five of their respective weight courses — is hungry to show its may. Even more, 32 of the 42 prime-ranked wrestlers are in search of their first state titles this week.

We all know a number of the names that may contend, similar to Fort Dodge’s Drake Ayala and Woodward-Granger’s Cody Fisher. We’ll study of others because the week goes along, reminiscent of Ankeny’s Trever Anderson, Crestwood’s Carter Fousek and the Tenold twins, Cade and Carson, from Don Bosco. 

These wrestlers and lots of extra will take middle stage this week. The primary matches go at 9 a.m. on Thursday. The remaining is as much as them.


Present Thumbnails

Show Captions

Final SlideNext Slide

► BRACKETS: Comply with the action with the Register’s reside on-line brackets


Workforce Favorite: Southeast Polk — eleven qualifiers